What a week!

What a difference a week makes.

Last week I went to the Doctors about my snoring and sleep apnea. I thought that it was probably caused by my enlarged tonsil on the right hand side.

The only problem was that I had had my tonsils out in 2004. The right hand side one had started to grow again and in 2016 the growth was tested for cancer and found to be non-cancerous so it was left in situ.

So, I wasn’t too worried when I went to the Doctors. Initially it was the Nurse Practitioner who took a look and said that she couldn’t prescribe antibiotics for that!

She booked an appointment with a Doctor for later that day, but messaged the Doctor to see if she would see me straight away, which she did.

The Doctor took a look and immediately away put me on the 2 week wait pathway to see the ENT consultant at the local hospital.

The very next day I had a call from the hospital to arrange the appointment for four days later.

The consultant took a good look at the offending tonsil and declared that the original surgeon in 2004 hadn’t removed all the tonsillular tissue and it had been growing ever since.

He doesn’t think it is cancerous but will keep me on the 2 week pathway just in case, will arrange an MRI scan and then remove the unwelcome growth.

So the day after seeing him I had another call from the hospital to arrange an MRI scan for next Tuesday and then a date will be arranged for the operation.

So in the course of a week I have gone from thinking that my loud snoring is just a bit of a joke, to thinking I have got cancer of the throat and having to undergo another tonsillectomy.

A minor procedure you may think, but believe me it is very painful afterwards but at least I get to eat Ice Cream for a week while I recover!

My hope is that after all this its removal will cure my terrible snoring!

J

Published by knitterpress

I knit, I think and I write

One thought on “What a week!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started